Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Bang Bang Bang!

Some ten years ago or so if someone asked you to name an Indie Rock band, the Yeah, Yeah, Yeahs would have been one of the first names mentioned.  I haven’t posted them yet though because they haven’t had an album in four years.  Today something happened to change my mind.  They announced they would be headlining a music festival in Austin Texas in November and added, “Watch for more news coming soon.”  This is exciting news.  New album in the works?  I don’t know, – stay tuned.

This is one of the first bands that really hooked me on Indie music. “Shake it like a ladder to the sun” is the opening line of the song in the video below and they certainly did shake up the music scene.  Karen O is a frenetic and exciting frontwoman and their live shows are said to be intense and ecstatic fun.  (I’m still waiting for my first chance to see them live.)  Their music is tough to describe so I’m going to steal a phrase from Wikipedia where it is described as a “edgy post-punk, dancefloor-friendly racket.”  I like it.

Here’s hoping Karen O and great guitar of Nick Zinner and drumming of Brian Chase come back full force.

3 Replies to “Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Bang Bang Bang!”

  1. These guys are one of a kind and Karen O. has some wicked voice. I loved a lot of their last album so perhaps big things?

    Like

Leave a Reply

